Cambium

Frequently asked questions

Back to back answers to your questions

  • What are your products made of?

    Most of our products are made from unbleached cardboard. To make them water resistant, they are lined with PLA vegetable plastic, a composite of vegetable origin. Our utensils and cup lids are also made of PLA.

  • What is PLA vegetable plastic?

    PLA vegetable plastic is a fully biodegradable thermoplastic polymer, which uses renewable raw materials. The acronym PLA comes from the English word Polylactic Acid. The PLA used for Cambium products is made from corn starch.

  • What is the difference between compostable, biodegradable, and recyclable?

    Recyclable:
    A product is qualified as recyclable when it can, at the end of its life, be reintroduced into the production cycle by taking the place, in part or in whole, of the new raw material needed to make a product.

    Biodegradable:
    The term biodegradable applies to a product capable of decomposing in a favorable environment under the action of microorganisms. A biodegradable product decomposes without harmful effects on the environment.

    Compostable:
    By default, what is compostable is also biodegradable. Where compostable products stand out is in their soil-fertilizing properties, once their decomposition is complete.

  • Can Cambium products be recycled?

    Products coated or composed of PLA vegetable plastics must be composted, they are not recyclable.
    Our cardboard products such as our carrier bags and trays are fully recyclable if they have not been in contact with liquid or food.
    Items contaminated with food sent for recycling, in addition to not being recycled, may corrupt the rest of the materials in the recycling bin. In such a case, they will end up together in a landfill.

  • Can I put compostable products in the trash?

    When a compostable product ends up in a landfill, it is deprived of an element necessary for its decomposition: oxygen. Without it, all organic waste produces carbon dioxide and methane, the most harmful greenhouse gases for the environment. Putting them in the trash is therefore equivalent to canceling all the environmental benefits of compostable materials.

  • Are coffee lids and utensils compostable?

    100% yes, since they are made of PLA vegetable plastic.

  • Are your products certified compostable?

    Yes, the PLA vegetable plastic and unbleached cardboard we use carry the FSCC 22000 certification (food safety) as well as the OK Compost certification according to the Example Compostability standard (EN 13432).
    FSCC 22000 certification
    Example Compostability

    Certification FSCC 22000
    Example Compostability

  • How long does PLA plant plastic take to disintegrate?

    The thickness of PLA plant plastic and its degradation conditions influence its duration.

    On average:
    In a compost plant: 1 to 2 months
    In household compost: 3 to 8 months
    In the ocean: 6 months to 2 years.
    In the wild: 4 years.
    In the open: never.

  • Where is the production plant located?

    In order to offer Canadian traders a competitive price compared to petroleum plastic objects and thus effect a real short-term change in the consumption habits of Canadian companies, we have opted for Chinese companies certified OK Compost.
    With a view to expansion, the objective is to repatriate production to Canadian soil.

  • Are your products dishwasher / microwave safe?

    It is not recommended to put PLA vegetable plastic products in the dishwasher since PLA (like petroleum plastic) may melt. For the same reason, it is also not recommended to put them in the microwave.

  • Is the packaging containing Cambium products compostable?

    Delivery boxes:
    Although they are compostable once the tape is removed, it is best to recycle them.

    Plastic packaging:
    The plastic used to bag the products is not compostable, it is recyclable.

    N.B .: As with any plastic bag or small recyclable particle, packaging must be combined in larger quantities in order to be detected by the equipment of sorting centers. The most popular method is the “bag-in-bag” method, which means combining all of your packaging in one bag and putting it in the recycling bin when it's full.

  • The thumb trick

    There are an endless number of types of bags and packaging on the market, but as a general rule, to find out if a packaging or plastic bag is recyclable, try to stretch it by pushing through it with your thumb. If plastic stretches easily, it means it is recyclable. Otherwise, it goes in the trash bin.

  • Is duct tape compostable / recyclable?

    The duct tape is not compostable.
    In the recovery process, the paper or cardboard materials are soaked in order to decant off intruding materials, such as adhesive tape. The paper pulp will be treated independently of the plastic or metallic materials and the recovery process will not be corrupted.

  • Can we put PLA plant-based plastic in the compost at home?

    Municipal organic waste collection services as well as private companies are perfectly suited to the composting of PLA plant plastic.
    When it comes to home-made or garden compost, PLA vegetable plastic takes much longer to decompose than leftover food substances. For this reason, it is not recommended to put plant-based PLA plastic in them, unless you are prepared to wait a few months for it to decompose.

  • Have you researched the conditions of employees in production plants?

    Absolutely. As with many high-volume production plants, the majority of the manufacturing of Cambium products is robotic, resulting in greatly reduced numbers of human workers. The few workers who work in the factories have access to working conditions and remuneration that comply with the standards in force in the country.

  • Is the ink used on your products and delivery boxes compostable?

    Ink is considered by industrial composting services to be a negligible component and does not reduce degradation efficiency in any way.

Cambium

Questions ?

Check out our F.A.Q. !

Have a specific request? Write us at info@cambiumdistribution.com or fill out the form below:

    Your cart

Cambium

Foire aux questions

En rafale, les réponses à vos interrogations!

  • De quoi vos produits sont-ils faits?

    Nos produits sont composés en majeure partie de carton non-blanchi. Pour les rendre résistants à l’eau, ils sont doublés de plastique végétal PLA, un composite d’origine végétale. Nos ustensiles et couvercles de gobelets sont également constitués de PLA.

  • Qu’est-ce que le plastique végétal PLA?

    Le plastique végétal PLA est un polymère thermoplastique entièrement biodégradable, qui utilise des matières premières renouvelables. L’acronyme PLA vient du mot anglais Polylactic Acid, que l'on traduit en français par "acide polylactique". Le PLA utilisé pour les produits Cambium est fait à base d’amidon de maïs.

  • Quel est la différence entre compostable, biodégradable, et recyclable?

    Recyclable :
    Un produit est qualifié de recyclable lorsqu'il peut, en fin de vie, être réintroduit dans le cycle de production en prenant la place, en partie ou en totalité, de la matière première neuve nécessaire à la confection d’un produit.

    Biodégradable :
    Le terme biodégradable s'applique à un produit susceptible de se décomposer dans un environnement favorable sous l'action de micro-organismes. Un produit biodégradable se décompose sans effet néfaste sur l'environnement.

    Compostable :
    Par défaut, ce qui est compostable est également biodégradable. Là où se distinguent les produits compostables, c’est dans leurs propriétés fertilisantes pour les sols, une fois leur décomposition achevée.

  • Peut-on mettre les produits Cambium au recyclage?

    Les produits enduits ou composés de plastique végétal PLA doivent être mis au compost, ils ne sont pas recyclables.
    Nos produits à base de papier cartonné tels que nos sacs et cabarets de transport sont tout à fait recyclables s’ils n’ont pas été en contact avec un liquide ou de la nourriture.
    Les objets contaminés par la nourriture envoyés au recyclage, en plus de ne pas être recyclés, risquent de corrompre le reste des matières du bac de recyclage. Dans un tel cas, ils finiront ensemble dans un centre d’enfouissement.

  • Puis-je mettre des produits compostables à la corbeille?

    Lorsqu’un produit compostable se retrouve dans un centre d’enfouissement, celui-ci est privé d’un élément nécessaire à sa décomposition : l’oxygène. Sans celui-ci, tout déchet organique produit du gaz carbonique et du méthane, les gaz à effet de serre les plus nocifs pour l’environnement. Les mettre à la poubelle équivaut donc à annuler tous les bienfaits environnementaux des matières compostables.

  • Est-ce que les couvercles de cafés et les ustensiles sont compostables?

    Oui à 100%, puisqu’ils sont faits de plastique végétal PLA.

  • Vos produits sont-ils certifiés compostables?

    Oui, le plastique végétal PLA et le carton non-blanchi que nous utilisons portent la certification FSCC 22000 (sécurité alimentaire) ainsi que la certification OK Compost selon le standard Example Compostability (EN 13432).
    Certification FSCC 22000
    Example Compostability

  • Combien de temps le plastique végétal PLA prend-t-il pour se désintégrer?

    L’épaisseur du plastique végétal PLA et ses conditions de dégradation influent sur la durée de celle-ci.

    En moyenne:
    Dans une usine à compost : de 1 à 2 mois
    Dans un compost domestique : de 3 à 8 mois
    Dans l’océan : de 6 mois à 2 ans.
    Dans la nature : 4 ans.
    À l’air libre: jamais.

  • Où se situe l’usine de production?

    Dans l’optique d’offrir aux commerçants canadiens un prix compétitif face aux objets de plastique de pétrole et ainsi effectuer un réel changement à court terme dans les habitudes de consommations des entreprises canadiennes, nous avons opté pour des compagnies chinoises certifiées OK Compost.
    Dans une perspective d’expansion, l’objectif est de rapatrier la production en sol Canadien.

  • Vos produits peuvent-ils aller au lave-vaisselle / au micro-ondes?

    Il est déconseillé de mettre les produits à base de plastique végétal PLA dans le lave-vaisselle puisque le PLA (tout comme le plastique de pétrole) pourrait fondre. Pour la même raison, il est également déconseillé de les mettre dans le micro-ondes.

  • Les emballages contenant les produits Cambium sont-ils compostables?

    Boîtes de livraison:
    Bien qu’elles soient compostables une fois le ruban adhésif enlevé, il est préférable de les recycler.

    Emballages plastiques:
    Le plastique utilisé pour ensacher les produits n’est pas compostable, il est recyclable.

    N.B. : Comme pour tout sac de plastique ou petite particule recyclable, les emballages doivent être réunis en plus grande quantité afin d’être détectés par l’équipement des centres de tri. La méthode la plus populaire est celle du “sac de sac”, c’est-à-dire de combiner tous vos emballages dans un seul et même sac et de les mettre dans le bac de recyclage une fois ce dernier rempli.

  • Le truc du pouce

    Il existe une quantité infinie de types de sacs et d’emballages sur le marché, mais en règle générale, pour savoir si un emballage ou un sac de plastique est recyclable, tentez de l’étirer en poussant au travers avec votre pouce. Si le plastique s’étire aisément, cela signifie qu’il se recycle. Dans le cas contraire, il va à la corbeille.

  • Le ruban adhésif est-il compostable / recyclable?

    Le ruban adhésif n’est pas compostable.
    Dans le procédé de récupération, les matières à base de papier ou de carton sont trempées afin d’en dégager par décantation les matériaux intrus, tel que le ruban adhésif. La pulpe de papier sera traitée indépendamment des matières d’origine plastique ou métallique et le processus de récupération ne sera pas corrompu.

  • Peut-on mettre le plastique plastique végétal PLA dans le compost à la maison?

    Les services de collecte de déchets organiques municipaux ainsi que les compagnies privées sont parfaitement adaptées au compostage du plastique végétal PLA.
    Pour ce qui est du compost artisanal ou de jardin, le plastique végétal PLA prend beaucoup plus de temps à décomposer que les restants de substances alimentaires. Pour cette raison, il est déconseillé de mettre du plastique végétal PLA dans ceux-ci, à moins d’être prêt à attendre quelques mois pour que celui-ci se décompose.

  • Avez-vous fait des recherches sur les conditions des employés des usines de production?

    Absolument. Comme pour plusieurs usines de production à grand volume, la majorité de la confection des produits Cambium est robotisée, ce qui résulte en un nombre fort réduit d’êtres humains travailleurs. Le peu de salariés qui sont à l’emploi des usines ont accès à des conditions de travail et une rémunération se conformant aux normes en vigueur au pays.

  • L’encre utilisée sur vos produits et vos boîtes de livraison est-elle compostable?

    L’encre est considérée par les services de compostage industriel comme une composante négligeable et ne réduit en rien l’efficacité de la dégradation.

Cambium

Questions ?

Plusieurs réponses se trouvent dans la F.A.Q. !

Une demande particulière?

Votre panier